Austrian Physical Society
Archive
  
  
  
Search on the OePG website:
   
   
  Set Page Contrast  
   
 

Archive of the Announcements of Open Jobs and Positions

Display complete list of items

Position of a Professor of Theoretical Physics (Nanophysics) at the University of Graz  (Created: 2020-02-03)

At the Institute of Physics at the Faculty of Natural Sciences, the University of Graz is seeking to appoint a Professor of Theoretical Physics (Nanophysics) (40 hours per week; selection procedure in accordance with Section 98 of the Universities Act (UG); permanent employment according to the Salaried Employees Act (AngG); expected starting date October 1st 2020)

For this professorship we are seeking an outstanding scientific personality who will complement and expand the existing expertise at the Institute of Physics in the field of solid-state or nano physics and be responsible for teaching the subject of theoretical physics. We expect the core research area to be the theoretical description of optical and electronic properties of nanostructures. A topical overlap with the experimental groups in nano optics, surface science, or nano and quantum materials located in Graz is preferred. The teaching duties of the successful candidate will include teaching the basics of theoretical physics and research oriented special topics in master’s and doctoral programmes, as well as supervising bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral theses. The University of Graz and the Graz University of Technology aim to join their physics institutes into a combined "Graz Centre of Physics" (GCP), within the framework of the strategic inter-university cooperation NAWI Graz. The successful candidate is expected to actively contribute to this effort and collaborate with the participating groups from other disciplines at the research locations in Graz.

Employment requirements:

  • Austrian or equivalent foreign higher education degree corresponding with the position (doctorate/PhD)
  • Habilitation or equivalent qualification in Theoretical Physics or Chemistry
  • Outstanding academic qualifications in research and teaching in the relevant discipline and for the profile of the professorship (commensurate with stage of academic career)
  • Success in attracting subject-specific project grants, particularly where competitively awarded third-party funds are concerned
  • Skills in higher education didactics
  • Skills in the supervision and guidance of early career researchers
  • Professional experience abroad during academic career
  • Management and leadership experience
  • Gender mainstreaming skills
  • The candidate is expected to demonstrate his/her educational and didactic aptitude. This also includes skills in the supervision and guidance of junior researchers.

The successful candidate will be highly motivated, aiming for academic excellence and integrity in research and teaching. He/she will have demonstrated ability to collaborate constructively in a responsible manner and inspire colleagues and students in an interdisciplinary, internationally oriented context.

Please refer to the advertisement for more information!

Application deadline: March 4th 2020
Reference number: BV/2/98 ex 2019/20

 

Advertisement in German

Advertisement in English

to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2020

Österreichische Physikalische Gesellschaft
Archiv
  
  
  
Suche auf der ÖPG-Website:
   
   
  Seitenkontrast einstellen  
   
 

Archiv der Stellenausschreibungen

Vollständige Liste der Mitteilungen anzeigen

Professur für Theoretische Physik (Nanophysik) an der Universität Graz  (Erstellt: 03.02.2020)

Die Universität Graz besetzt am Institut für Physik der Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät eine Professur für Theoretische Physik (Nanophysik) (40 Stunden/Woche; Verfahren gem § 98 Universitätsgesetz; unbefristetes Arbeitsverhältnis nach dem Angestelltengesetz; voraussichtlich zu besetzen ab 01. Oktober 2020)

Für diese Professur wird eine wissenschaftlich hervorragend ausgewiesene Persönlichkeit gesucht, welche die am Institut für Physik bestehende Expertise im Bereich Festkörper- oder Nanophysik ergänzt und erweitert sowie das Fach Theoretische Physik in der Lehre vertritt. Die Forschungsschwerpunkte sollen im Gebiet der theoretischen Beschreibung optischer und elektronischer Eigenschaften von Nanostrukturen liegen. Ein thematischer Überlapp mit experimentellen Gruppen in der Nanooptik, Oberflächenphysik, oder Nano- und Quantenmaterialien am Standort Graz ist wünschenswert. Zu den Lehraufgaben der Stelleninhaberin / des Stelleninhabers zählen die Vermittlung der Grundlagen der Theoretischen Physik und von forschungsgeleiteten Spezialthemen im Master- und Doktoratsstudium, sowie die Betreuung von Bachelor-, Master- und Doktorarbeiten. Die Universität Graz und die TU Graz streben an, im Rahmen der strategischen Standortkooperation NAWI Graz ihre Physikfachbereiche unter einem gemeinsamen Dach, dem Graz Centre of Physics (GCP), zusammen zu führen. Es wird erwartet, dass sich die zukünftige Stelleninhaberin / der zukünftige Stelleninhaber aktiv in dieses Zentrum einbringt und darüber hinaus bereit ist, interdisziplinär mit Gruppen am Forschungsstandort Graz zu kooperieren.

Anstellungserfordernisse:

  • Eine der Verwendung entsprechende abgeschlossene inländische oder gleichwertige ausländische Hochschulbildung (Doktorat oder PhD)
  • Habilitation oder gleich zu wertende Qualifikation in Theoretischer Physik oder Chemie
  • Hervorragende wissenschaftliche Qualifikation in Forschung und Lehre für das zu besetzende Fach und Profil der Professur (in Relation zum akademischen Alter)
  • Erfolgreiche Einwerbung fachspezifischer Projekte; insbesondere kompetitiver Drittmittel
  • Kompetenz in Hochschuldidaktik
  • Kompetenz in der Betreuung und Anleitung von NachwuchswissenschafterInnen
  • Auslandserfahrung während der wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn
  • Management- und Führungserfahrung
  • Kompetenz in Gender Mainstreaming
  • Erwartet wird der Nachweis der pädagogisch-didaktischen Eignung. Dies umfasst ebenso die Kompetenz in der Betreuung und Anleitung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses.

Darüber hinaus erwarten wir hohe persönliche Motivation zu wissenschaftlicher Exzellenz in Forschung und Lehre, eine verantwortungsbewusste Arbeitsweise sowie die Fähigkeit zur Zusammenarbeit in Forschungsteams und zur Inspiration von KollegInnen und Studierenden. Freude an der Arbeit mit Menschen in einem interdisziplinären und international orientierten Umfeld setzen wir ebenso voraus wie wissenschaftliche Integrität und Problemlösungsfähigkeit.

Entnehmen Sie bitte weitere Informationen dem Ausschreibungstext!

Ende der Bewerbungsfrist: 04. März 2020
Kennzahl: BV/2/98 ex 2019/20

Ausschreibungstext in Deutsch

Ausschreibungstext in Englisch

zum Seitenanfang
© Österreichische Physikalische Gesellschaft (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2021