Austrian Physical Society
Search on the OePG website:
  Set Page Contrast  

Archive of News and Announcements

Display complete list of items

Winners of the OePG Awards 2016  (Created: 2016-09-29)

On September 27, 2016, the following awards have been granted at the 66th Annual Meeting of the OePG 2016 in Vienna:

  • Fritz Kohlrausch Award: Rinaldo Trotta (JKU Linz) for the conception and development of a novel class of semiconductor-piezoelectric devices which allows arbitrary quantum dots to be used as sources of entangled photons for quantum networking
    Thomas Monz (Univ. Innsbruck) for the realization of Shor’s algorithm according to Kitaev in a quantum computer with trapped ions
  • Roman Ulrich Sexl Award: Lothar Bodingbauer for his science-to-public activities in radio broadcasts „Physiksoiree“, „Vom Leben der Natur“ and „Radiokolleg
    Peter Schmid for his valuable inputs in further education and in the training of physics teachers
  • Victor Franz Hess Award (section "Nuclear and particle physics"):
    Max Riegler for his thesis “How general is holography?“
  • Anton Paar Science Award for Physics (section "Solid state physics"; award sponsered by Santner Privatstiftung):  Andreas Pospischil for his work on generation and detection of light in two-dimensional material
  • Max Auwaerter Award: Barbara A. J. Lechner for her work “Studying complex surface dynamical systems using He-3 spin echo spectroscopy”
  • Students' Award: Philipp Stanzer (TU Wien) for his thesis “Holographic entanglement entropy in heavy ion collisions”
    Christoph Tietz (Univ. Wien) for his thesis “Investigation of the structure of lithium borate ionic glasses”

EPL Poster Awards (granted on September 29, 2016):

  • Karin Hain (Univ. Wien), "Detection of Pu in Pacific Ocean water by AMS with respect to the Fukushima accident"
  • Anna Weitzer (Univ. Graz), "Investigation of transitions conditioned by temperature and composition change in a 4 component lipid-only system"
  • Jakob Alexander Genser (Montanuniversität Leoben), "Epitaxy of Highly Ordered Conjugated Organic Semiconductors Supported by Hexagonal Boron Nitride"

Fotos © Dipl.-Ing. Robert Alexander Herbst, POINT OF VIEW; poster awards: Computational Physics Group, Uni Wien

to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2021