Austrian Physical Society
Archive
  
  
  
Search on the OePG website:
   
   
  Set Page Contrast  
   
 

Archive of the Scientific News and Reports of the OePG

Display complete list of items

The European Physical Society assessing assessment procedures in Physics  (Created: 2012-06-19)

EPS Logo

The European Physical Society in its role to promote physics and physicists is concerned about the increasing use of bibliometric indices in evaluation procedures of individuals, groups and their scientific projects.

In recent years, various studies on the potential adverse consequences of a purely numerical assessment on the quality of funded scientific research have been conducted in Europe. Different institutions have published best practices regarding the review process of scientists and projects.

In this ongoing debate, the European Physical Society insists on the importance of peer review for all evaluation procedures. It takes position against a purely numerical assessment. Only the cautious application of bibliometric indices during a peer review procedure can guarantee non-biased results. “Rigorous but broader assessment procedures - says EPS President Luisa Cifarelli - must take into account the research environment and particularities of the domain in the evaluation of the scientific content.”

(June 19, 2012)

More... (EPS statement)

Original EPS Press Release

EPS Website

to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2018

Österreichische Physikalische Gesellschaft
Archiv
  
  
  
Suche auf der ÖPG-Website:
   
   
  Seitenkontrast einstellen  
   
 

Archiv der wissenschaftlichen Mitteilungen und Berichte der ÖPG

Vollständige Liste der Mitteilungen anzeigen

Die Europäische Physikalische Gesellschaft (EPS) beurteilt Beurteilungs-Prozeduren in der Physik  (Erstellt: 19.06.2012)

EPS Logo

In ihrer Rolle, Physik und Physiker/innen zu fördern, ist die Europäische Physikalische Gesellschaft (EPS) besorgt über die zunehmende Verwendung bibliometrischer Indizes bei der Beurteilung von Personen, Gruppen und ihren wissenschaftlichen Projekten.

In den vergangenen Jahren wurden in Europa zahlreiche Studien über die potenziell nachteiligen Konsequenzen einer rein numerischen Beurteilung für die Qualität kompetitiver wissenschaftlicher Forschung vorgenommen. Verschiedene Organisationen haben Best Practice-Vorgangsweisen bei der Begutachtung von Wissenschafter/innen und Projekten veröffentlicht.

In der aktuellen Debatte betont die Europäische Physikalische Gesellschaft die Bedeutung einer Peer Review für alle Evaluierungs-Prozesse. Sie stellt sich entschieden gegen eine rein numerische Beurteilung. Einzig die vorsichtige Anwendung bibliometrischer Indizes im Rahmen einer Peer Review kann unvoreingenommene Ergebnisse ermöglichen. "Rigorose, aber breiter angelegte Beurteilungsprozeduren müssen die Forschungsumgebung und Eigenheiten des Fachgebiets bei der Evaluierung des wissenschaftlichen Inhalts mit in Betracht ziehen", sagt dazu die Präsidentin der EPS, Luisa Cifarelli.

(19. Juni 2012)

Mehr... (Positionspapier der EPS)

Originale Presseaussendung der EPS

EPS Website

zum Seitenanfang
© Österreichische Physikalische Gesellschaft (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2019